#World Cup 2022

All FIFA World Cup Winners

All FIFA World Cup Winners

All FIFA World Cup Winners

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious football tournament in the world and one of the most exciting sports events in general. Winning in this tournament is a dream for any National team and football player. It’s the highest level a National or player can get.

All the National teams around the world find to compete in the World Cup final tournament and fight for the most desired football trophy, but only selected ones reach there, and not speaking about winning it.

So far, only 8 National Teams have been able to win the World Cup, and only 6 of them have won the cup more than 1 time.

As the World Cup 2022 is close, let’s have a look at all the World Cup winners so far.


Even though football was founded in England, Brazil is considered probably the top football country in the world. And also the 5 World Cup trophies speak about this.

The Brazilian National won their first World Cup back in 1958. Brazil beat Sweden 5–2 in the final in Stockholm to claim their first title and the tournament became the first for 17-year-old Pelé, the King of Football.

The 2nd title wasn’t that far. Brazil won it in 1962, where they successfully defended their World Cup title, defeating Czechoslovakia 3–1 in the final in Santiago, becoming the 2nd team, after Italy in 1934 and 1938, to win the World Cup twice consecutively.

The 3rd title came after 8 years. In the 1970 final, 2-time World Cup winners, Brazil and Italy were fighting for their 3rd title, and in this fight Brazil won: 4-1.

In 1994, Brazil again was facing Italy in the final. This time they were fighting for their 4th title. And they won it by beating Italy with penalties: 3-2. That popular miss by Roberto Baggio.

5th and so far the last World Cup title Brazilians won in 2002. That legendary team was unbeaten and unforgettable. Also this time Brazil faced and defeated European team; Germany, winning 2-0 in the final with the double of legendary Ronaldo.


Another crucial country in football history, it’s evolution and still playing a fundamental role, Italy won 4 World Cup titles.

The first time Azzurri won the most desired title back in 1934, in the 2nd World Cup tournament ever. They beat Czechoslovakia, 2–1, became the 2nd World Cup champions and the first European country to win the World Cup.

The 2nd title came in 1938, where Italy defended their World Cup title, beating Hungary 4–2 in the final. The 1934-1938 Italian team was managed by legendary Vittorio Pozzo.

The next title Italy won after 42 years. In the 1982 World Cup final they defeated West Germany 3–1 in Madrid.

The 4th and the last so far title Azzurri won in 2006. The Marcello Lippi team spent a fantastic tournament, not losing any match and only conceding 2 goals in the final tournament 7 matches. In the final, Italy faced France, where after playing 1-1, won with penalties, and the final shot of Fabio Grosso.


The next comes another 4-time World Cup champion, Germany. Like Brazil and Italy, also Germany has a fundamental role in football history. It’s known for the focus on technique, tactical awareness and positioning.

The first title the National won was in 1954, where Germany (West Germany) defeated tournament favorites, the Golden Team of the Hungarians, 3–2 in the final.

The 2nd title Germany (West Germany) won in 1974, beating the Netherlands 2–1 in the final at the Olympiastadion in Munich. During the final tournament, Germany won 6 of 7 matches.

The next title Germany National (West Germany) won in 1990. This time they beat Argentina 1-0 at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, thanks to the goal of Andreas Brehme.

The 4th World Cup title Germany won 8 years ago in 2014. In the final, Germany defeated Argentina 1–0 after extra time at the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro.


Uruguay are the first World Cup champions ever. They won the domestic World Cup back in 1930. In the final, hosts defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of 68,346 people and became the first nation to win the World Cup.

The 2nd title Uruguay won in 1950. The team defeated the host nation, Brazil, in the deciding match in Rio de Janeiro, becoming the 2nd team to win the World Cup twice.


One more football country, Argentina, won the World Cup title twice. In 1978, Argentina won the first title, beating the Netherlands 3–1 in the final, after extra time at River Plate’s home stadium, Estadio Monumental, in Buenos Aires. Diego Maradona didn’t participate in this World Cup, as for the Argentina National manager he was too young to be called up for such a tournament.

The 2nd World Cup came to Argentina in 1986. Argentina beat West Germany 3–2 in the final at Mexico City’s Estadio Azteca.

This time the team was captained by the 25-year old Diego Maradona. Maradona scored 2 important goals in the quarter-final against England: the “Hand of God” goal and a goal that was voted “Goal of the Century”.


Current World Cup champions, France, are next on the list. The Blues had to wait quite long to win their first World Cup title.

In 1998, they won the first title in France, beating Brazil 3-0 in the final. That team was full of legends: Zidane, Henry, etc.

2nd title France won in 2018. In the final, France played Croatia at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, winning the match 4–2 and claiming their second World Cup.


The homeland of football, England, won their only (so far) World Cup title in 1966. England defeated West Germany 4–2 in the final.

The match had finished at 2–2 after 90 minutes and went to extra time, when Geoff Hurst scored two goals to complete his hat-trick. This was the first hat-trick to be scored in a World Cup final.


THe 8th country to win the World Cup was Spain. They won their first and the only (so far) World Cup title in 2010. In the final, the European champions defeated the Netherlands 1–0 after extra time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *